Canada: land of extreme moderation

Posted on February 19, 2009. Filed under: Canadian culture, cross cultural | Tags: , , , , |

I just returned from 4 wonderful days visiting family in Quebec. 8 people, 3 languages (Spanish, French and English) and only one speaker fluent in all 3.  My kids are now old enough to be aware of cross cultural differences, especially since it is a constant topic of conversation in our house. My son, who is almost 14, was amazed at how moderate Canadians are. He noticed:

  • That food portion sizes are about 1/3 the size of American food portions. We saw a menu that said you could either order Regular or Moderate size. We still don’t know which is bigger.
  • That people are neither obese nor runway model skinny.
  • That even in subzero temperatures, people are out and about, enjoying themselves without complaint.
  • That streets are clean and people don’t eat while walking.
  • That nobody clapped, whistled, or made noise when a parade passed.
  • That even though there is ice everywhere, people don’t sue each other when they fall down.
  • That beverages are served warm, not hot. It’s even on the menu. When I asked a server to please put my hot chocolate in the microwave to heat it up, she put it on 12 seconds.

quebec-0851If I had to use one word to describe life in Canada, I would say pleasant. Which, I guess, is a moderate definition.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Canada: land of extreme moderation”

RSS Feed for tasteslikechicken2me Comments RSS Feed

Canadians took my cell phone and just took it apart and broke it the last time I went over the border. I arrived in Canada without a way to call to get my car or hotel.(Actually the time before the last time-the last time was Niagra Falls last summer when that didn’t happen)But still, why can’t they just be a part of the USA? I do not understand what the big deal is that they have to be a separate country.Are we going to have to invade them or do a coupe or buy them? Let’s just make them all our citizens too. Just one day have Mr Obama say”OK You guys are now Americans!”


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

